Meet Our Newest Member

Leslie Kane is our new Graduate Assistant in the Honors Program. Please read her introduction below.

DSC_0376[1]

For those of you I haven’t met yet, my name is Leslie Kane and I am the new Graduate Assistant in the Honors Program. I am beyond excited to be teaching HONR 401 in the fall and hope to see some of you in my class!

A little bit about me: I am from Lemont, IL, a south-west suburb of Chicago. I completed my undergraduate degree at Augustana College, a small, liberal arts college in Illinois where I studied Psychology and Theatre Arts. While there I studied abroad in Rome, had multiple internships and was involved in many activities, including symphonic band (Go flutes!), campus ministry, theatre, and martini swingers, the social ballroom dance group on campus. Currently I am taking classes in the Counseling and Student Personnel department and am pursuing my masters in mental health counseling. Once I graduate, I hope to pursue licensure and work in a college or university counseling center. When I’m not at my desk in the honors office, I can be found studying in coffee shops, attending play performances, and swing dancing. I am a true geek at heart and love chess and anything Harry Potter related. My birthday just happens to be on Valentine’s Day, which is only one of the greatest holidays in the world. If you disagree, I’m positive I’ll change your mind by the time the loveliest day of the year comes around.

Truly, though, I am so excited to be working with such talented and bright students. Coming from a liberal arts college, I really admire the work that it takes to become a well-rounded individual. Learning how to become a global citizen, doing research and gaining leadership experience will set you apart from the rest. The honors program is setting individuals up for success after college and I am so glad to be a part of the process. Thank you for welcoming me to your honors family. I look forward to getting to know all of you, and I can’t wait to see what the next semester has in store.

Leave a Reply

